Traveling to Holland

HOLLAND

This is the country where I was born.
The beautiful green land of the Netherlands!
My husband and I went to Europe last March
and visited Holland, among other countries.
Here are some pictures of our travels.

photo of pretty windmill in the netherlands or holland

Photography of windmill in holland, the Netherlands landscape

This is one of my favorite pictures of our trip.
This is a windmill we saw on our way to my grandmother’s house.
It’s a small one but I liked how it was in the middle of a field of green grass.
It really shows how Holland really looks. A beautiful country.

photography of church in holland

Church in little town of wommels, the Netherlands, my husband’s home town

This is a picture of a church in my husband’s home town.
Almost every small town has a church in the middle of it.
It’s usually surrounded by a grave yard.
The churches all look different but they are all pretty.
The weather in this picture depicts dutch weather to a T.
Its dark, cloudy, and a bit rainy.
Nasty weather… but that’s why the grass is so green. 🙂

photography of town in the netherlands

A photograph of a creek in the middle of a town in holland, or the Netherlands

As we traveled I took lots of pictures, these are just a few,
this was in a street close by Wommels.
Holland is lined with lots of little creeks here and there.
Once upon a time Holland was under water,
they pumped the water out and built dikes (large hills) to keep the ocean back.
Now the land is dry, but there are lots of little waterways.
These waterways are usually also the property lines for most people,
instead of fences.

Bikes in holland photography

Bikes in the Netherlands, lined up at a bus stop. You see this everywhere

Oh, the bikes. I’m not a bike rider.
I will when I have to but im not very good at it,
and I don’t enjoy it either.
But everyone in Holland rides bikes,
at bus stops you see bikes lined up like here.

A pretty sunset in holland

Photography of the sun setting in the Netherlands

Sunset over the beautiful landscape.

photo of the sun settin in holland

The sun setting behind the windmills in holland or the Netherlands. Beautiful colors in this photo

At one point Bart really hated stopping the car for me to take pictures.
But he was a sweetheart about it. 🙂

vacation in holland

With my cousin and her ponies in holland at a little beach

Our main reason for going to Holland was to see family,
I’m not posting all the family pictures.
Just a few pretty pictures I took along the way.
Hope you enjoyed the post, Holland really is a beautiful country.
If you get a chance to go I give you this advice.
Don’t stay in Amsterdam, that’s like going to the USA and staying in New York City.
Holland has a lot more to it than just the big city.

Linda

About lindavanruiten

I'm a 20-something graduate, with a degree in computer information systems. My lovely husband and I own a dairy farm here in Texas. Like everyone, I've had my struggles and acomplishments. This blog displays my hobbies, like DIY crafts, home remodeling, and renovations; it also displays my art, including oil painting, charcoal, pencil drawings, photography, and other mediums. I also have a category called My Thoughts, which is filled with trials and tribulations, funny stories, and of course - thoughts. Anyway, hope you like it... and FOLLOW ME!

Posted on January 11, 2013, in All Travel Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

