Plans for the Kitchen and Livingroom

I’m getting restless over the holidays, so I’m starting to plan.

Were still planning on moving in February, im looking forward to it a LOT. But the house does need some work. I enjoy doing DIY things so this is totally my department.

I’ve only been in the house once to take a quick look around. I only know some basics, two rooms, two bathrooms (one doesn’t work), a laundry room/porch, an open kitchen/living/dining room area, and a cute screened in front porch.

The kitchen livingroom area looks the most dated it has wood paneling similar to this picture:

paneling example

(This picture was taken off the Google)

It also has old green shag carpet. I really want to take out the shag carpet… but I secretly hope there is wood floor hidden under it. teeheehee* If not I wouldn’t mind putting laminate down, ive done it before and it’s really not that hard. And looks similar to wood too.

For the walls I want to put putty or bondo in between the panels, that way it looks like sheet-rock. but only partially. Then I’ll prime and paint everything. (two separate colors) put up a little wooden border and it could look similar to the picture I found on pinterest below: livingroom (different wall colors and streight up and down panels, but similar)

I want to keep the bottom a white color to match the white ceiling. But the top part I was thinking a light beige color.

The livingroom/kitchen area is a very open concept. the only thing separating it is a small island/bar area by the kitchen. Everything is the same chestnut color. throughout the kitchen. After I paint the walls that will help lighten and open everything up.

As for the chestnut colored cabinets, I was planning on staining them a darker color. maybe a shade darker than the flooring. like the picture below:

kitchen

(I also took this pic from pinterest)

It’ll depend too on what type of floor I use, right now the kitchen floor is vinyl. I need to take a look at the floor and see if i need to change it.

I also like this backsplash, I think it’ll look more luxurious:

DIY kitchen ideas DIY livingroom ideas wall paneling

Also found on pinterest

So, if you want to see how this DIY project goes then follow along, for the next few months ill post some info about how I do everything.

PLUS

I’m doing it on a budget. So maybe you can get some ideas from me!
Also, comment if your blog has some diy stuff on it. I’ll check it out and we’ll swap ideas.

Linda!

About lindavanruiten

I'm a 20-something graduate, with a degree in computer information systems. My lovely husband and I own a dairy farm here in Texas. Like everyone, I've had my struggles and acomplishments. This blog displays my hobbies, like DIY crafts, home remodeling, and renovations; it also displays my art, including oil painting, charcoal, pencil drawings, photography, and other mediums. I also have a category called My Thoughts, which is filled with trials and tribulations, funny stories, and of course - thoughts. Anyway, hope you like it... and FOLLOW ME!

Posted on December 31, 2012, in Kitchen/Livingroom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

